Chain Reaction 2022

Chain Reaction: Action Now

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

What does it take to build a movement? People and resources.
The current war in Ukraine underscores anew the dangerous reemergence of nuclear threats that leave the world vulnerable to nuclear escalation, and even nuclear war. Now is the time for action. We need to build a movement. One that rivals the disarmament rally held 40 years ago in Central Park when 1 million nuclear freeze activists gathered to protest nuclear weapons.
A series of events so related that each one initiates the next is known as a Chain Reaction. Every year we gather leaders in our field, devoted partners, and new advocates to generate a nexus of ideas, opportunities, and strategies to advance policies that promote the reduction and eventual elimination of nuclear weapons. You—and every new ally you introduce to Ploughshares Fund—represent a key ingredient in our formula for change.

Chain Reaction: Action Now
Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Virtual event, LIVE via Zoom
5-6:30pm PT / 7-8:30pm CT / 8-9:30pm ET


Watch Party in San Francisco
Commonwealth Club, 110 The Embarcadero
4-8pm PT
$250 per person


Confirmed Speakers:

  • Jamal Abdi, President of the National Iranian American Council (NIAC)

  • Dr. Emma Belcher, President of Ploughshares Fund

  • Liv Boeree, Broadcaster, Champion Poker Player, and Co-founder of Raising for Effective Giving

  • Tom Collina, Director of Policy at Ploughshares Fund
  • Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)
  • Istra Fuhrman, Program Assistant for Nuclear Disarmament & Pentagon Spending at Friends Committee on National Legislation (FCNL)
  • Sara Haghdoosti, Executive Director at Win Without War
  • Philip Taubman, Author and Consulting Professor at Stanford’s Center for International Security and Cooperation
  • Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)
  • Elizabeth Warner, Managing Director at Ploughshares Fund

Special thanks to our Chain Reaction Committee, the group of volunteers who make this event possible with their input and inspiration.

Chain Reaction Committee
Phil Ames
Tannaz Banisadre
Connie Foote
Pamela Hamrick
Kevin Holmes
Victoria Lilienthal
Don Mordecai
Max Pike
Stephen Sarewitz

Host Committee
Shanna Nasiri
Jennifer and Robert Waldron
Sally Lilienthal Sponsors
James B. Blume and Kathryn Frank
In memory of Mary Lloyd Estrin
Robert and Jennifer Waldron Civic Fund
Werner Family Foundation
Dauray/Davis Family Fund
John and Mary Feikema
Connie Foote
HAND Foundation
Terry Gamble Boyer and Peter Boyer
Nion McEvoy and Leslie Berriman
Purple Lady Fund, Barbara J. Meislin
Phil and Sabrina Ames
Kennette Benedict
Ken and Helen Blohm
Joe Cirincione
Mr. Stuart L. Gasner and Ms. Kate Ditzler
Amy McGrath
Drs. Corinna Haberland and Don Mordecai
Julie and Will Parish
Sayre P. Sheldon
Phyllis Thelen
John Bowers and Linda Stevens
Dorothie and Martin Hellman
Martina Lauchengco and Christopher Jones
Ann L. Krumboltz
Paul Sack

Speaker Bios

Jamal Abdi is President of the National Iranian American Council (NIAC) and the Executive Director of NIAC Action, the group's sister civic-action organization. Abdi first joined NIAC as Policy Director in November 2009, directing NIAC’s efforts to monitor policies and legislation and to educate and advocate on behalf of the Iranian American community. He co-founded NIAC Action in 2015. Abdi previously worked in the US Congress as Policy Advisor for foreign policy, national security, and immigration issues and as a field organizer in his home state of Washington.
Dr. Emma Belcher is president of Ploughshares Fund. Previously she spent nearly a decade at the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, where she led the foundation’s Nuclear Challenges grantmaking program. Belcher has served as a Stanton Nuclear Security Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations, an advisor in Australia’s Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet on national security and international affairs, and a public affairs officer at the Australian embassy in Washington, DC.
Tom Z. Collina is director of policy at Ploughshares Fund, with 30 years of Washington, DC experience in nuclear weapons, missile defense, and nonproliferation issues. Tom is co-author, with former Secretary of Defense William J. Perry, of The Button: The New Nuclear Arms Race and Presidential Power from Truman to Trump, published in 2020. Tom also co-hosts the Ploughshares Fund podcast Press the Button. He has testified before the Senate Armed Services and Foreign Relations committees and has been published in The New York Times and The Washington Post, among others.

Beatrice Fihn is Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize-winning campaign coalition that works to prohibit and eliminate nuclear weapons. Fihn led the campaign since 2014 and mobilize civil society throughout the development of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons that Entered into Force on January 22, 2021. She is also the Executive Producer of the film “The Day the World Changed” and was recently listed as one of the 50 innovators who changed the global landscape in 2017 by Bloomberg Media.
Istra Fuhrmann is the Program Assistant for Nuclear Disarmament and Pentagon Spending at the Friends Committee on National Legislation (FCNL), editing and disseminating the Nuclear Calendar, lobbying for arms control and de-escalation policies such as No First Use, and leading FCNL’s legislative work on the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (RECA). After her fellowship year at FCNL concludes, she will become Program Associate for the Peace & Security Funders Group.
As Executive Director, Sara Haghdoosti leads Win Without War’s day-to-day operations, development, and organizational strategy. Haghdoosti was previously Win Without War’s Deputy Director and has over ten years of experience in digital campaigning. She founded, an organization that worked to support changemakers in Iran and worked previously at the Mozilla Foundation,, and GetUp Australia. Haghdoosti is author of the novel, Sunburnt Veils.
For more than 40 years, Senator Markey has served the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as a Congressman and U.S. Senator. He has been a powerful and effective voice for bolstering U.S. and global security by staunching nuclear proliferation and promoting arms control. Senator Markey is Chair of the East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy Subcommittee of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee; Chair of the Clean Air, Climate and Nuclear Safety Subcommittee of the Environment and Public Committee; as well as a member of the Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee and the Small Business Committee. He served in the U.S. Army Reserve and two terms in the Massachusetts State House before being elected to Congress.
Elizabeth Warner is Managing Director and Chief Development Director at Ploughshares Fund. She has over 20 years of experience in nonprofit management and fundraising. Prior to joining Ploughshares Fund in 2012, Elizabeth served as the Major Gifts Officer at Paul Newman’s Camp Boggy Creek, a summer camp for children with life-threatening and chronic illnesses.