speakers at event

Transforming National Security: Nuclear Policy for a New Era

Save the Date! Wednesday, November 18, 2020

This page will be updated with a link to register closer to the event.

Save the Date, Wednesday, November 18 for a Ploughshares Fund post-election nuclear policy forum. Learn about the national security outlook for the next administration and how excess nuclear spending can fund higher national priorities such as responses to Coronavirus, racial injustice and climate change.

Transforming National Security: Nuclear Policy For A New Era
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
via Zoom

This is a deliberately post-election event. Unlike all other instruments of war, nuclear weapons are the president’s weapons. Only the commander in chief can authorize their use. With this authority comes the responsibility for presidents to take the lead on transforming nuclear policy so these weapons are never used again. Whoever is elected in 2020, the next president of the United States will have a unique opportunity to reshape US nuclear policy.

While previous events were limited by space and travel constraints, this year's meeting will be available to registrants via Zoom. The registration link will be available closer to the event.

Update 10/1/2020: Rep. Adam Smith and Rep. Pramila Jayapal have already confirmed as speakers!

Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA9) has served in the US House of Representatives since 1997 and is the chair of the House Armed Services Committee, which oversees the annual defense bill; and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA7) has served in the US House of Representatives since 2017 and is the co-chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus.

Other congressional leadership and experts in the field, including grantees and partners working to create a safe and secure future, will be announced. Save the date and stay tuned!

Photos from last year's event:

Rep. Ted Lieu

Sen. Chris Van Hollen

Rep. Pramila Jayapal

Sen. Ed Markey

Photo, top (L-R): Tom Collina, Director of Policy, Ploughshares Fund; Emma Belcher, President of Ploughshares Fund; Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA); and Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)

Photos from last year's event: Rep. Ted Lieu, Rep. Pramila Jayapal, Sen. Chris Van Hollen and Sen. Ed Markey. Photos by Justin T. Gellerson