Chain Reaction: A Bold Future

VIDEO: Chain Reaction: A Bold Future

Watch the full video of Chain Reaction: A Bold Future above! Share it with your friends, and stay engaged in the fight to reduce and eliminate the threat of nuclear weapons.


Facebook | Twitter

The history of nuclear weapons is wrought with unheeded warnings and failed safeguards. Norms against nuclear proliferation and use that have defined global security for decades are now at risk, and we face the most challenging and complex geopolitical environment since the founding of Ploughshares over 40 years ago.

Ploughshares is uniquely positioned to guide the nuclear field through these crises using the lessons learned from our decades of experience and applying strategies to uncover new, longer-lasting solutions to the world’s greatest problem. Together, through innovative thinking, we can envision a bold future in which nuclear weapons can never be used again.

A series of events so related that each one initiates the next is known as a chain reaction. Every year we gather leaders in our field, devoted partners, and new advocates to generate bold ideas and strategies to advance policies to reduce the threat of nuclear weapons. You—and every new ally you introduce to Ploughshares—represent critical innovators of change.


William (Bill) D. Hartung as emcee. Hartung is both a renowned expert in the nuclear field and a comedian in New York City and Washington, DC. He is a senior research fellow at The Quincy Institute for Responsible Statecraft, the author of Prophets of War: Lockheed Martin and the Making of the Military Industrial Complex, and a member of Ploughshares’ Field Building Advisory Committee.

Keynote interview with Annie Jacobsen, New York Times best-selling author of Nuclear War: A Scenario. Jacobsen has also written seven other books on sensitive national security issues. She was a 2016 Pulitzer Prize Finalist and writes for and produces TV shows such as Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan series. Legendary Entertainment LLC has optioned Nuclear War for a new project under the direction of Dune director Denis Villeneuve.

Timely conversation on nuclear weapons and the crisis in the Middle East with Barbara Slavin, distinguished fellow at the Stimson Center and a lecturer in international affairs at George Washington University. Slavin founded and directed the Future of Iran Initiative at the Atlantic Council and led a bi- partisan task force on Iran. The author of Bitter Friends, Bosom Enemies: Iran, the US and the Twisted Path to Confrontation, she is a regular commentator on US foreign policy and Iran on NPR, PBS and C- Span.

Preview of the award-winning documentary, First We Bombed New Mexico. Remarks by Lois Lipman, Director, and music by Paul Pino. The documentary tells the story of thousands of New Mexicans, primarily Hispanic and Native Americans, who were exposed to radioactive fallout without being warned. The documentary has been screened at film festivals nationwide and won over a dozen awards including The Best of Fest Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival, The Activist Award at the Southern Utah International Documentary Film Festival, and The Best New Mexico Documentary Feature at the Santa Fe International Film Festival.

Chain Reaction Committee

Pamela Hamrick, Chair
Philip Ames
Tannaz Banisadre
Connie Foote
Don Mordecai
Stephen Sarewitz

Host Committee
Chairwoman's Circle
In celebration of the inspiring leadership of outgoing Board Chair Terry Gamble Boyer
Phil Ames
Emma Belcher
Kennette Benedict
Skyler Brown
Kate Ditzler 
John Feikema
Connie Foote
Stuart Gasner 
Samuel Heins
Gretchen Hund
Tabitha Jordan
Amy McGrath
Doug Michelman
Don Mordecai
Scott Sagan
Margaret Winslow 

Sally Lilienthal Sponsors
In memory of Mary Lloyd Estrin
Robert and Jennifer Waldron Civic Fund

James B. Blume and Kathryn W. Frank
John and Mary Feikema
Connie Foote
Gretchen Hund
Purple Lady Fund, Barbara J. Meislin
Margaret Winslow 

Kennette Benedict
William Donnelly
Angela and Jeremy Foster
Victoria Lilienthal and Thomas Dreyer 
Amy McGrath
Robert and Marcia Popper
Sujitpan Bao Lamsam and Scott Sagan
Roselyne Chroman Swig 

John Bowers and Linda Stevens
Skyler Brown
Mathea Falco
Stuart Gasner and Kate Ditzler 
Dorothie and Martin Hellman
Grace Hughes
Thomas C. Layton and Gyöngy Laky
The Oppenheimer Project